I Have A Nightmare

Image

I know that today is a day for thinking big and reaching forward. I love that, but I also realize that mankind still has just as many problems, if not more, than it did prior to the Civil Rights Movement. 

I am seventh generation Alabamian. My family has lived on the same property in rural Alabama since the early 1800s, so we have many long years of history here. In that history, I’m proud to say, none of my ancestors owned anyone else. However, that doesn’t mean that they never hated someone of another color. This is the past we all continue to break from and ensure our children do not experience in any way.

The South has healed amazingly well since the Civil War and Civil Rights. In fact, I believe that a great deal of the South is better off in many ways than the rest of the country where I see news reports of violence and hate all the time. People in the South, to a much greater extent, no longer find it taboo to marry someone of another color or ethnicity. So many wonderful things are happening.

My nightmare is that the division we see in so many other ares of our country will start a new culture of hate. I don’t want my children to have to deal with this, but it seems that it’s inevitable. Overall, I would have all people live peaceably and love one another. I believe in the words of John who says, Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God. Whoever does not love does not know God, because God is love. (1 John 4:7-8). 

If God is love, then love is God. I hope that each person in this world will keep this truth in you and let love live in you.

Leave a Reply

