Waiting

ImageOne of the hardest parts of being a writer is waiting: waiting for ideas, waiting until you finish the draft so you can edit, waiting until you’ve edited the manuscript to begin querying. Then, you have to wait until the agents or publishers you’ve queried to get back to you so you can either be rejected or send full or partial manuscripts to them.

At this moment, I’m waiting to hear back from six separate agencies who have requested partials or fulls from me. It’s awful. Every time I get an email or phone call, my hackles raise and I hope it’s one of the agents contacting me to tell me they want to represent me or reject me. This manner of living is extremely stressful, as you might imagine. So, what do I do to alleviate the pressure? Here are a few things I’ve tried, with varying levels of success:

1. Writing another book. Escaping into another world has definite benefits when you’re stressed in this one. I find myself most at peace when I’m reading or writing since the characters’ problems are always worse than mine anyway.

2. Writing blog posts like this one. You guys are awesome, although I must admit that I’d still write these posts even if no one read any of them. It just helps to get the anxiety out in some way. You have no idea how relieved I feel right now.

3. Seeking validation from everyone. I’m a good writer, right? Yeah, this one doesn’t work so well. It usually just makes me feel like a loser.

So, if you’re waiting for something to happen with your writing, remember that there are ways to distract yourself. Don’t go insane.

3 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. There’s just one thing worse than being a writer in waiting, and that’s a freelance cartoonist being ignored by editors.

    Unlike editors in the UK and USA, a majority of Australian editors don’t see the value in cartoons.

    Along with many other Australian cartoonists (those who have not yet starved to death), I keep producing cartoons, and drawings of food in the refrigerator, and anything which wanders through my mind that may be of interest to an editor.

    I send many cartoons to editors just to keep them aware of my presence, but that doesn’t work.

    Maybe I should drop cartooning and take up writing. That sounds like a good idea !!

    http://cartoonmick.wordpress.com/humorous-illustration/

    Cheers

    Mick (cartoonist in waiting)

  2. article is quite interesting and hopefully true happiness rays began to warm the hearts of us all, when we can share it with sincerity. Greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

Leave a Reply

